Wednesday, June 8, 2011

Only one more to go!!

Yep, only one more round of treatment to go. Can't wait until it is over! This seems like such a long drawn out thing. Guess it is since it is over 6 months for treatment. Sorry  I didn't get this out as soon as treatment started. Not sure what I did but something flew into my wrist and I've only been able to hunt and peck. An update was just too hard that way.  I'm loaded up on Motrin and wearing my carpal tunnel brace (although I'm pretty sure it isn't CT related) so I can at least type now!

We started treatment Tuesday May 31. Treatment days went well. No problems getting through treatment. The doctor is pleased with the progress Jeff has made. He hinted at some maintenance doses of the one med to help maintain remission, but said we'd talk about it after we finish the last round. So, we'll deal with that later.

On Saturday May 28 Jeff started with a bad headache. He NEVER has a headache (so unfair!) so when he still had it by the time we went in for treatment on Tuesday we mentioned it to the doctor. He didn't feel it was treatment related but since it had been that long and was still severe, he ordered an MRI. He had that on Thursday after treatment. Of course, by Saturday or Sunday the headache was much better. MRI results showed nothing significant.

We had trouble getting the MRI scheduled and when I mentioned how long treatment takes because of the pre-hydration, they told me that this far into treatment he may not need that extra liter of fluid before he starts the Treanda. It sure felt weird to get out of there as early as we did on Wednesday and Tuesday!

But, I think we ended up doing the wrong thing by not getting that extra fluid. Jeff was feeling pretty good on Friday so we got stuff ready for the community yard sale on Saturday. (Because of treatment and a baseball game for Clinton we weren't sure we would be able to pull it off so we weren't as ready as we should have been.) Yard sale went well and he was still feeling okay.

Late Sunday night he started to get his "chemo hangover." He came home from work early on Monday and laid down right away. He got up to get ready for work on Tuesday and ended up calling in. He spent all day yesterday either on the couch or on the lounge chair outside. I'm not sure if it is really helping or not, but I have him taking the stronger nausea med and also more Tylenol then he is really allowed to take. He is also sitting with ice on his head hoping it helps.  He does seem some better this morning. I do think we  are going to request the fluid back for that last cycle. I know that it won't hurt and it just might help. This just is not like Jeff to sit around. Extra prayers to get over this hard "hangover" are appreciated along with some for a smoother time next time.   Recovery after the 4th round went so well and he felt so wonderful that this one is just hard to take.

Jeff joked this morning that he feels like he is getting bed sores. I've never seen him down with anything for this long. We are almost at 48 hours. I don't think he was down this long when he cracked his vertebra and wrist in '98.  I knew there was a reason I told him months ago not to even THINK about joining in the station run this weekend.

Thank you all for your support and prayers. Sorry I didn't get this out like I should have.